Monday, April 29, 2013

Official guest list

Royal Family, Royal Delegations and Special Delegations at the abdication and investiture, 28 April 2013

The following members of the Royal Family, Royal Delegations and Special Delegations will be present at the ceremonies surrounding the abdication and investiture on 30 April.

Royal Family

  • The Queen / Princess Beatrix
  • The Prince of Orange and Princess Máxima / the King and Queen
  • Princess Catharina-Amalia, Princess Alexia and Princess Ariane
  • Princess Mabel
  • Prince Constantijn and Princess Laurentien
  • Princess Irene
  • Princess Margriet and Professor Pieter van Vollenhoven
  • Princess Christina
  • Prince Carlos and Princess Annemarie
  • Princess Margarita and Mr Tjalling ten Cate
  • Prince Jaime
  • Princess Carolina and Mr Albert Brenninkmeijer
  • Prince Maurits and Princess Marilène
  • Prince Bernhard and Princess Annette
  • Prince Pieter Christiaan and Princess Anita
  • Prince Floris and Princess Aimée
  • Mr Bernardo Guillermo
  • Mr Nicolás Guillermo
  • Ms Juliana Guillermo

Royal Delegations

  • Prince Philippe and Princess Mathilde of Belgium
  • Crown Prince Salman bin Hamad al Khalifa of Bahrain
  • Crown Prince Billah and Princess Sarah of Brunei
  • Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary of Denmark
  • Crown Prince Naruhito and Crown Princess Masako of Japan
  • Prince El Hassan bin Talal and Princess Sarvath El Hassan of Jordan
  • Hereditary Prince Alois and Hereditary Princess Sophie of Liechtenstein
  • Hereditary Grand Duke Guillaume and Hereditary Grand Duchess Stéphanie of Luxembourg
  • Princess Lalla Salma of Morocco
  • Prince Albert II of Monaco
  • Crown Prince Haakon and Crown Princees Mette-Marit of Norway
  • Haitham bin Tareq al Said (Oman)
  • Sheikha Moza bint Nasser al-Misned (Qatar)
  • The Prince and Princess of Asturias (Spain)
  • Crown Prince Maha Vajiralongkorn (Thailand)
  • Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn (Thailand)
  • The Prince of  Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall (United Kingdom)
  • Sheikh Hamed bin Zayed al Nahyan (United Arab Emirates)
  • Crown Princess Victoria and Prince Daniel of Sweden

Special Delegations

  • Mr Amado Boudou, Vice-President of Argentina, and Senator Beatriz Rojkes de Alperovich, Provisional President of the Senate
  • Mr David Johnston, Governor-General of Canada, and Mrs Sharon Johnston
  • Professor Rita Süssmuth, former President of the Bundestag, and Professor Hans Süssmuth (Germany)
  • Deputy Prime Minister Ali Babacan and Mrs Zeynep Babacan of Turkey
  • Mr Suh Sang-Kee, Chairman of the Intelligence Committee of the National Assembly (Republic of Korea)
  • Mr José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission, and Mrs Margarida Barroso
  • Mr Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament
  • Mr Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council, and Mrs Geertrui Van Rompuy
  • Count Jacques Rogge, President of the International Olympic Committee, and Countess Anne Rogge-Bovyn
  • Mr Kofi A. Annan, former Secretary-General of the United Nations, and Mrs Nane Annan
  • Mrs Helen Clark, UNDP Administrator
Not a surprise about Bernardo Guillermo not being accompanied by his wife.  Although invitations were sent to the heirs to the thrones,  Prince Albert of Monaco will be attending.  He's is the sovereign of a princely state, which does not have diplomatic relations with most countries.  The Dutch embassy in Paris is also responsible for Monaco.   Albert will never make a state visit to the Netherlands, nor will the King and Queen of the Netherlands pay a state visit to Monaco.

Albert and Willem-Alexander were both members of the IOC, which may explain Albert's invitation.   Albert's sister, Princess Caroline, does not carry out engagements on behalf of her brother.  She is first in line, but she is not treated as the heir to the principality.

1 comment:

Unknown said...

A question.

You got the royal list from what source? The reason is the naming of:
Prince Philippe and Princess Mathilde of Belgium

Crown Princes were named as such but Prince Phillippe (and his wife) is the Duke of Brabant which is the title for the Crown-Prince of Belgium.

A bit picky but since this is a subject of royality and title, the point should be made.